Potty Training With Jesus


Last night was my turn to put our daughter to bed.  She is at the age where we and her pediatrician feel she should be potty trained or at least 99 percent of the way there.  While brushing her teeth and trying to find the perfect Sponge Bob Dixie cup she looked up at me and said, “I went pee pee in my diaper.”

While she has made big strides and I understand that each child has their own timetable, it has resulted in an underlying sense of frustration.  I have given her the talks about the joys of freedom from diapers and the glories of wearing “big girl” under-ware.  I don’t want to see my role as “lecturer in chief.”  However, it seems I revert to that more often than I should.

While tucking her in and saying prayers I give her my canned speech in the kindest voice possible.  But now I remember something.  Earlier in the day I was talking on the phone to my sister and she related how important it was to her daughter when she had encouraged her to pursue her deepest dreams and that all things are possible.  That was surely rattling around in my subconscious.  I felt the urge (pardon the pun) to tell my daughter, “However long it takes, I love you and will always love you.”

She jumped up and gave me two big hugs.

Sometimes mercy and compassion need to balance out the long arm of the law and this lecturing parent.

About castleqwayr

If you need to contact me or comment you may comment on a particular post or email me at: castleqwayr@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Christianity, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

